About us

The company Next2Sun GmbH was founded to realize a completely new photovoltaic (PV) system concept. Our team has several years of experience as project developers and plant operators. As long-standing players in the energy turnaround, we are attracted by the wealth of different application possibilities and the almost global applicability of our new concept.

Together with our parent companies Ökostrom Saar GmbH and Solverde Bürgerkraftwerke Energiegenossenschaft eG, we have developed the Next2Sun system concept to market maturity. Both companies have been successfully developing and implementing projects in the field of renewable energies for many years. Next2Sun bundles the industry experience and know-how of both companies. The passion for innovative technologies and the striving to develop a completely new building block in the renewable energy sector is what distinguishes our team.

Using innovative energy systems, our experienced employees make a very important contribution to a sustainable energy supply and a clean and liveable environment with commitment and sound expertise.

 

Our Agro Photovoltaic Concept

The core idea behind the Next2Sun system concept is the vertical installation of special solar modules, which can utilize the solar radiation from both sides (“bifacial” modules). The two sides of the module are facing east and west respectively. This way, the electricity is produced, especially in the morning and evening. The areas between the module rows can continue to be used for agriculture and the resulting flower strips provide space for endangered insects and many bird species. Row gaps of around 10 m allow further agricultural, mechanical use of the area. The area required by the PV system is less than 10 % of the area. In addition, the vertical installation of bifacial solar modules in an east-west direction offers further interesting advantages. The Next2Sun ground-mounted system adds a new power generation profile to the energy turnaround. Due to the consistent vertical east-west orientation, peak loads can be reached in the morning and evening hours – counter-cyclically to the existing southern installations. This is beneficial for grid stability and enables plants to be connected to grid branches that are already operating at full capacity and to achieve higher revenues on the electricity exchange. Variable row spacings of at least 8 metres continue to allow a wide variety of agricultural use concepts, and the careful use of soil as a resource leads to a high level of acceptance. The linear structures and the low degree of overbuilding create high-quality old grass areas in which specific habitat structures can be established. The large spaces between the rows offer not only agricultural use but also scope for agri-environmental or compensatory measures The frame system is a solid steel construction consisting of two posts and three crossbars each, which support two bifacial glass-glass modules arranged horizontally one above the other. The overall height of the frame can be flexibly modified and is usually about 3 meters above ground level. The frame design has been developed for easy and flexible installation and long durability. Together with the glass-glass solar modules used, this results in a very long service life for the entire system. The system is designed to meet high static requirements, especially those resulting from wind loads. Project-specific adaptations allow it to be used at almost any location worldwide.

 

Higher yields

The goal of Next2Sun GmbH is to add a new component to the energy turnaround in the area of electricity production from solar radiation energy. This is technically implemented by not tilting the bifacial solar modules (active on both sides), but by vertically raising them to the east or west. As a result, electricity is mainly produced in the morning and evening. Depending on the type of module used, 5% to 15% higher specific power yields per kW are achieved. This means that Next2Sun systems are one step ahead of classic, south-facing photovoltaic systems in terms of yield.

 

Grid-related feed-in profiles

Systems with the Next2Sun system concept feed the electricity into the grid when conventional, south-facing PV systems have only low production. This greatly relieves the load on the power grids, especially in the lower voltage levels. Next2Sun systems can therefore also feed power into the grid where wind and conventional PV systems are close to full capacity. The feed-in profile of the Next2Sun system congruently matches the daily curve of the electricity price on the electricity exchange. Our system thus also benefits directly from market events. Because electricity prices are typically low at lunchtime and high in the morning and evening, our Next2Sun systems generate higher average revenues. At present, we receive 5% to 10% higher market revenues on the electricity market compared to conventional PV systems. Together with the higher yields, the revenue per kW of installed system capacity increases by up to 25%.

 

Agriculture and livestock farming

 

Variable row spacings of at least 8 metres allow for a variety of agricultural use concepts. In addition, the outdoor system is suitable for grazing cattle, sheep or chickens. The careful handling of the resource soil leads to high acceptance. The Next2Sun system concept complements the existing possibilities of interaction between energy and agriculture. Up to 90% of the solar park area can still be used by agriculture. The at least 8 meter wide gaps between rows allow the use of conventional agricultural machinery, thus ensuring efficient work management. In this way, the “area consumption” can be significantly minimized. Different types of grassland use are possible:

  • Mowing meadows (hay or silage use)
  • Grazing (cattle, sheep or similar)
  • Biomass and material use
  • Arable land is also possible

Depending on the type of use, the machines used (example: protection against stone chipping), but also the PV system itself (example: protection against cable bites in pasture farming) are technically adapted so that the optimum type of use for the farmed operation can be achieved.

 

Nature and landscape conservation

Due to the linear structures and the low degree of overbuilding, high-quality old grass areas are created in which specific habitat structures can also be established. In addition to agricultural use, the large spaces between rows also offer scope for agri-environmental measures or compensation measures. The vertical positioning of the module areas means that the value of the ground area is hardly affected:

  • Insignificant degree of superstructure: less than 1% of the floor area, no sealing, no foundation
  • Virtually unchanged water balance: no change in precipitation distribution
  • Only slight change in solar radiation: Only about 10% to 15% of the annual solar radiation is extracted by the PV system

This results in a very small influence on the development of vegetation. Thus, habitats can be created and maintained in the area of the module rows, which have become rare in our today’s monotonous agricultural landscape:

  • old grass and flower strips, e.g. for insects and moths
  • deadwood areas, e.g. for birds, fungi and beetles
  • Stone rubble, e.g. for reptiles

In addition to linear habitat structures, flat habitat structures such as wildflower meadows can be created on the entire park area or on partial areas. The system concept thus allows to specifically respond to the respective project and site requirements.

While the visual effect at a distance is comparable to conventional PV systems, the visual appearance at close range is less technical, since, unlike conventional PV systems, no module backs with junction boxes and cables are perceived. The low level of construction is a major advantage, especially for birds – from a bird’s eye view, almost the entire floor area can be seen directly. In addition, glare effects outside the solar park are virtually excluded, since the vertical construction means that all reflections are physically pure.

À propos de nous

La société Next2Sun GmbH a été fondée pour réaliser un tout nouveau concept de système photovoltaïque (PV). Notre équipe a plusieurs années d’expérience en tant que développeurs de projets et opérateurs de centrales. En tant qu’acteurs de longue date dans le domaine du redressement énergétique, nous sommes attirés par la richesse des différentes possibilités d’application et l’applicabilité quasi mondiale de notre nouveau concept.

En collaboration avec nos sociétés mères Ökostrom Saar GmbH et Solverde Bürgerkraftwerke Energiegenossenschaft eG, nous avons développé le concept du système Next2Sun jusqu’à sa maturité commerciale. Les deux entreprises développent et mettent en œuvre avec succès des projets dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables depuis de nombreuses années. Next2Sun regroupe l’expérience et le savoir-faire des deux entreprises. Notre équipe se distingue par sa passion pour les technologies innovantes et sa volonté de développer une toute nouvelle composante dans le secteur des énergies renouvelables.

En utilisant des systèmes énergétiques innovants, nos employés expérimentés apportent une contribution très importante à un approvisionnement énergétique durable et à un environnement propre et vivable, grâce à leur engagement et à leur expertise solide.

 

 

Notre concept d’agrophotovoltaïque

L’idée centrale du concept du système Next2Sun est l’installation verticale de modules solaires spéciaux, qui peuvent utiliser le rayonnement solaire des deux côtés (modules “bifacial”). Les deux côtés du module sont orientés respectivement vers l’est et l’ouest. De cette façon, l’électricité est produite, surtout le matin et le soir. Les zones entre les rangées de modules peuvent continuer à être utilisées pour l’agriculture et les bandes de fleurs qui en résultent offrent un espace pour les insectes menacés et de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux. Des espaces entre les rangées d’environ 10 m permettent une utilisation agricole et mécanique plus poussée de la zone. La surface requise par le système photovoltaïque est inférieure à 10 % de la surface. En outre, l’installation verticale de modules solaires bifaciales dans une direction est-ouest offre d’autres avantages intéressants : le système Next2Sun monté au sol ajoute un nouveau profil de production d’énergie au tournant énergétique. L’orientation constante et verticale est-ouest permet d’atteindre les charges de pointe le matin et le soir, de manière anticyclique par rapport aux installations méridionales existantes. Cela est bénéfique pour la stabilité du réseau et permet aux centrales d’être connectées à des branches du réseau qui fonctionnent déjà à pleine capacité et d’obtenir des revenus plus élevés sur la bourse de l’électricité. L’espacement variable des rangées d’au moins 8 mètres continue de permettre une grande variété de concepts d’utilisation agricole, et l’utilisation prudente du sol en tant que ressource conduit à un niveau élevé d’acceptation. Les structures linéaires et le faible degré de surconstruction créent des zones d’herbe ancienne de grande qualité dans lesquelles des structures d’habitat spécifiques peuvent être établies. Les grands espaces entre les rangées offrent non seulement une utilisation agricole mais aussi des possibilités de mesures agroenvironnementales ou compensatoires Le système de châssis est une construction solide en acier composée de deux poteaux et de trois traverses chacun, qui supportent deux modules bifaces en verre disposés horizontalement l’un au-dessus de l’autre. La hauteur totale du cadre peut être modifiée de manière flexible et se situe généralement à environ 3 mètres au-dessus du sol. La conception du cadre a été développée pour une installation facile et flexible et une longue durée de vie. Avec les modules solaires verre-verre utilisés, cela se traduit par une très longue durée de vie pour l’ensemble du système. Le système est conçu pour répondre à des exigences statiques élevées, en particulier celles résultant des charges de vent. Des adaptations spécifiques au projet permettent de l’utiliser dans presque tous les endroits du monde.

 

Des rendements plus élevés

L’objectif de Next2Sun GmbH est d’ajouter une nouvelle composante au redressement énergétique dans le domaine de la production d’électricité à partir de l’énergie du rayonnement solaire. Techniquement, cela se fait en n’inclinant pas les modules solaires bifaciaux (actifs des deux côtés), mais en les élevant verticalement vers l’est ou l’ouest. De ce fait, l’électricité est principalement produite le matin et le soir. Selon le type de module utilisé, on obtient des rendements de puissance spécifique par kW supérieurs de 5 à 15 %. Cela signifie que les systèmes Next2Sun ont une longueur d’avance sur les systèmes photovoltaïques classiques, orientés vers le sud, en termes de rendement.

 

Profils d’alimentation liés au réseau

Les systèmes dotés du concept Next2Sun injectent l’électricité dans le réseau lorsque les systèmes photovoltaïques conventionnels orientés vers le sud n’ont qu’une faible production. Cela soulage considérablement la charge des réseaux électriques, surtout aux niveaux de tension les plus bas. Les systèmes Next2Sun peuvent donc également alimenter le réseau électrique là où les systèmes éoliens et photovoltaïques conventionnels sont proches de leur pleine capacité. Le profil d’alimentation du système Next2Sun correspond à la courbe quotidienne du prix de l’électricité sur la bourse de l’électricité. Notre système bénéficie donc aussi directement des événements du marché. Comme les prix de l’électricité sont généralement bas à l’heure du déjeuner et élevés le matin et le soir, nos systèmes Next2Sun génèrent des revenus moyens plus élevés. À l’heure actuelle, nous percevons sur le marché de l’électricité des revenus de 5 à 10 % supérieurs à ceux des systèmes photovoltaïques classiques. Avec les rendements plus élevés, les recettes par kW de capacité installée du système augmentent jusqu’à 25 %.

 

Agriculture et élevage

L’espacement variable des rangées, d’au moins 8 mètres, permet d’utiliser divers concepts d’utilisation agricole. En outre, le système de plein air convient au pâturage des bovins, des moutons ou des poulets. La manipulation soigneuse des ressources du sol conduit à une acceptation élevée. Le concept du système Next2Sun complète les possibilités existantes d’interaction entre l’énergie et l’agriculture. Jusqu’à 90 % de la surface du parc solaire peut encore être utilisée par l’agriculture. Les espaces d’au moins 8 mètres de large entre les rangs permettent l’utilisation de machines agricoles conventionnelles, assurant ainsi une gestion efficace du travail. De cette façon, la “consommation de surface” peut être considérablement réduite. Différents types d’utilisation des prairies sont possibles :

  • Fauchage des prairies (utilisation du foin ou de l’ensilage)
  • Pâturage (bovins, ovins ou similaires)
  • Utilisation de la biomasse et des matériaux
  • Les terres arables sont également possibles

En fonction du type d’utilisation, les machines utilisées (exemple : protection contre l’écaillage des pierres), mais aussi l’installation photovoltaïque elle-même (exemple : protection contre les morsures de câbles dans les pâturages) sont techniquement adaptées de manière à obtenir le type d’utilisation optimal pour l’exploitation agricole.

 

Conservation de la nature et des paysages

En raison des structures linéaires et du faible degré de surconstruction, des zones d’herbe ancienne de haute qualité sont créées dans lesquelles des structures d’habitat spécifiques peuvent également être établies. Outre l’utilisation agricole, les grands espaces entre les rangées offrent également la possibilité de prendre des mesures agroenvironnementales ou des mesures de compensation. Le positionnement vertical des zones des modules signifie que la valeur de la zone au sol n’est guère affectée :

  • Degré de superstructure insignifiant : moins de 1% de la surface au sol, pas d’étanchéité, pas de fondation
  • Bilan hydrique pratiquement inchangé : pas de changement dans la répartition des précipitations
  • Une faible variation du rayonnement solaire : le système photovoltaïque n’extrait qu’environ 10 à 15 % du rayonnement solaire annuel

Il en résulte une très faible influence sur le développement de la végétation. Ainsi, des habitats peuvent être créés et maintenus dans la zone des rangées de modules, qui sont devenus rares dans notre paysage agricole monotone actuel :

  • les vieilles bandes d’herbe et de fleurs, par exemple pour les insectes et les papillons de nuit
  • les zones de bois mort, par exemple pour les oiseaux, les champignons et les coléoptères
  • Débris de pierre, par exemple pour les reptiles

En plus des structures d’habitat linéaires, des structures d’habitat plates telles que les prairies de fleurs sauvages peuvent être créées sur l’ensemble de la zone du parc ou sur des zones partielles. Le concept du système permet donc de répondre spécifiquement aux exigences respectives du projet et du site.

Si l’effet visuel à distance est comparable à celui des systèmes photovoltaïques classiques, l’aspect visuel à proximité est moins technique, car, contrairement aux systèmes photovoltaïques classiques, on ne perçoit pas les dos de modules avec les boîtes de jonction et les câbles. Le faible niveau de construction est un avantage majeur, en particulier pour les oiseaux – à vue d’oiseau, on peut voir directement la quasi-totalité de la surface au sol. De plus, les effets d’éblouissement en dehors du parc solaire sont pratiquement exclus, car la construction verticale signifie que tous les reflets sont physiquement purs.