About Arla Foods

Arla Foods is a European dairy cooperative owned by around 9,700 Arla farmers from Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Great Britain, Luxembourg, Sweden and the Netherlands. In 2019, the company, which has around 19,000 employees, generated global sales of 10.5 billion euros. Arla products are sold worldwide under well-known brand names such as Arla®, Castello®, Lurpak® and Puck® in more than 120 countries. The company is the world’s largest producer of organic dairy products. In Germany, Arla Foods is represented by strong brands such as Arla Buko®, Arla® Skyr and Kaergarden®. Germany is one of the six core markets of the company. In this country, Arla Foods is the third largest dairy company and employs around 1,900 people in two large dairy plants and the German headquarters in Düsseldorf. 1,730 German, 575 Belgian, 180 Luxembourg and 65 Dutch cooperative members supply the plants with milk. Further information can be found at www.arlafoods.de.
Updated Arlagården® quality programme: Arla farmers increase transparency and focus on sustainability
To help Arla Foods make the transition to even more sustainable milk production, the European cooperative has updated its Arlagården® quality and sustainability programme to better capture the work on member farms and generate one of the dairy industry’s most comprehensive digital records.
The Arlagården® quality programme has existed since 2003 and makes an important contribution to ensuring the highest quality milk for which Arla Foods is renowned. With the revised programme, Arla’s audit system and documentation will be fully harmonised – for all 9,700 cooperative members in seven European countries.
As part of one of the world’s leading companies in sustainable milk production, Arla Foods’ cooperative members are already among the most climate-friendly milk producers in the world. They need less than half of the average emissions of global milk production to produce one litre of milk. The cooperative has also set itself an ambitious goal: it wants to reduce its CO2 emissions by 30 percent by 2030 and work towards net zero CO2e emissions by 2050.
Audits ensure conformity and trust
In the future, the revised Arlagården® will shift its focus – from the details of management to the results achieved in terms of conformity with Arlagården standards. One of the biggest changes in the new Arlagården® is that all Arla farmers will carry out their own quarterly inspections on their farms. To assist them in this task, the farmers have access to a digital knowledge and data portal that enables them to submit their data to the cooperative. The first period of data collection has already started and ran until 2 June 2020, creating a large database that will enable cooperative members to seize new opportunities.
In addition to the self-checks, there will be three different types of audits on the farms. All of them will be carried out by SGS, a leading Swiss company in the field of inspection, testing, verification and certification. A baseline audit will be carried out at the farms at least every three years, while focus audits will be initiated if the baseline audit or the transmitted data from the self-check reveal irregularities. In addition, there will be randomly selected sample audits, which will be carried out within 48 hours of their announcement.

Developed by cooperative members

Since the beginning of 2019, members from the entire Arla cooperative have been working hard to define new standards and develop the new audit system. The following improvements have been made to the program:
– Updated standards: The updated sections of the new Arlagården® continue to focus on milk quality, food safety and animal welfare. In addition, the focus on sustainability has been increased.
– A strengthened audit system and digital documentation: The new two-part audit system consists of a combination of quarterly internal inspections and external audits on Arla member farms. During the self-checks, farmers confirm compliance with Arlagården® standards by submitting answers to 119 questions via a digital data portal. The audits verify the farmers’ data and compliance with the standards.
– More flexibility for farmers: Wherever possible, the standards focus more on the results than on the way to achieve the results. As a result, farmers are largely free to decide how to implement the new standards – as long as the results fully meet Arla’s standards.
– Greater transparency: As Arla’s cooperative members are required to submit their data digitally, both the farmers and Arla will have greater transparency about current compliance and the latest developments. The data collected will be of great importance to drive further improvements and support the cooperative in Arla’s dialogue with customers and consumers.

À propos d’Arla Foods

Arla Foods est une coopérative laitière internationale qui compte 9 700 producteurs laitiers dans 7 pays : Le Danemark, la Suède, le Royaume-Uni, l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, la Belgique et le Luxembourg.

Mise à jour du programme de qualité Arlagården®: Les agriculteurs d’Arla Foods offrent plus de transparence et renforcent leurs actions en faveur de la durabilité

Pour permettre à Arla Foods d’accélérer sa transition vers une production laitière plus durable, la coopérative a actualisé son programme de gestion agricole durable et d’assurance qualité Arlagården®, afin de mieux refléter le travail sur les exploitations et de créer l’un des plus grands ensembles de données numériques relatives à la production laitière.

Le programme Arlagården® a été mis en place en 2003 et joue un rôle central pour garantir la qualité élevée qui fait la réputation des produits laitiers d’Arla Foods. Grâce à ce programme révisé, les méthodes d’audit et les rapports d’Arla Foods seront entièrement alignés pour les 9 700 associés-coopérateurs répartis dans sept pays.

Figurant parmi les leaders mondiaux de la production laitière durable, les émissions par litre de lait des agriculteurs d’Aral Foods représentent moins de la moitié de la moyenne mondiale. La coopérative s’est également fixé l’objectif ambitieux de réduire de 30 % ses émissions de CO2 d’ici 2030 et d’atteindre une production laitière de zéro émissions nettes d’ici 2050.

Les audits, une garantie de conformité et de confiance

À l’avenir, le programme Arlagården® révisé a réorienté sa stratégie et se concentre moins sur les détails de la gestion des exploitations, mais davantage sur les résultats finaux en termes de conformité avec les normes. L’un des changements les plus importants au sein d’Arlagården®, est que les agriculteurs Arla doivent  désormais faire une auto-évaluation de leurs exploitations chaque trimestre. Pour ce faire, les associés-coopérateurs peuvent désormais accéder à un portail numérique de connaissances et de données de pour apprendre à transmettre leurs informations pendant la première période de collecte de données, jusqu’au 2 juin 2020. Ainsi, la coopérative vise à construire l’un des plus grands ensembles de données numériques au monde concernant la production laitière, ce qui permet aux agriculteurs d’Arla Foods d’identifier les opportunités à partir de leurs propres données et via la base de données partagée.

Outre les auto-évaluations des exploitations, on distinguera trois types d’audits, tous menés par SGS, une société suisse comptant parmi les premiers fournisseurs de services d’inspection, de vérification, d’analyse et de certification. Dans les exploitations, un audit de base aura lieu au moins tous les trois ans, et des audits ciblés seront mis en place lorsque l’audit de base ou les données envoyées lors de l’auto-évaluation permettront de signaler les irrégularités. Enfin, des audits aléatoires sont mises en place, qui surviendront 48 heures après l’envoi d’un préavis à l’agriculteur.

Développé par les associés-coopérateurs : le nouveau Arlagården® est le fruit d’un travail d’équipe

Depuis le début de l’année 2019, les associés-coopérateurs d’Arla Foods ont participé activement à la définition des nouvelles normes et du nouveau système d’audit. Ce programme comprend désormais les améliorations suivantes :

  • Normes mises à jour : Toutes les normes ont été passées en revue pour refléter les exigences actuelles de nos clients en matière de qualité du lait, de sécurité alimentaire et de bien-être animal, mais aussi pour renforcer l’exigence de durabilité de nos produits.
  • Renforcement du système d’audit et de rapports numériques : Le nouveau dispositif d’audits en deux volets comporte des auto-évaluations et des audits externes des exploitations chaque trimestre. Dans le cadre des auto-évaluations, l’agriculteur devra justifier du degré de conformité de son exploitation aux exigences d’Arlagården® en répondant à 119 questions au format numérique. Ces audits permettront de vérifier que les données de l’agriculteur s’alignent avec les critères de conformité du programme.
  • Plus de flexibilité pour les agriculteurs : Dans la mesure du possible, les normes se concentrent sur les résultats plutôt que sur des solutions précises. Dans une large mesure, les agriculteurs individuels seront donc en mesure de trouver les solutions adaptées à leurs fermes, tant que les résultats sont pleinement conformes aux normes d’Arla Foods.
  • Plus de transparence : Comme les associés-coopérateurs d’Arla sont invités à enregistrer leurs données au format numérique, chaque agriculteur individuel et Arla bénéficieront d’une plus grande transparence sur la conformité actuelle et les évolutions récentes. Toutes ces connaissances seront d’une utilité précieuse pour apporter des améliorations et promouvoir notre coopérative dans les échanges entre Arla et ses consommateurs et clients.